Advances in Subatomic Physics workshop - June 2020

The Special Research Centre for the Subatomic Structure of Matter will be hosting a workshop in honour of the 70th birthday of Professor Tony Thomas and the 60th birthday of Professor Derek Leinweber.

Tony Thomas and Derek Leinweber


Workshop details

  • Registration

    Registration – Now Open

    Please complete your Registration details (and those of any Accompanying Persons) using the hyperlink below. 

    Registration is being done through Indico, but please note that you should not need an Indico account in order to register.

    Once your Registration is complete you will be sent a link to make credit card payment via the University of Adelaide’s Online Shop (secure payment portal).


    Register Now:

  • Date and Venue

    Dates: Due to the outbreak of COVID-19, the dates for the workshop have been changed. Currently, the revised dates are Monday September 21st to Friday September 25th, 2020.

    Venue: Pullman Cairns International, 17 Abbott Street, Cairns, Queensland

  • Program

      Monday 21st Tuesday 22nd Wednesday 23rd Thursday 24th Friday 25th
    09:00-09:30     FREE DAY   ---------------
    10:30-11:00 Tea/coffee Tea/coffee   Tea/coffee Tea/coffee
    12:30-13:00 Lunch Lunch   Lunch Lunch
    13:00-13:30 Lunch Lunch   Lunch Lunch
    13:30-14:00 Discussion Discussion   Discussion Discussion
    14:00-14:30 Discussion Discussion   Discussion Discussion
    14:30-15:00 Discussion Discussion   Discussion Discussion
    15:00-15:30 Tea/coffee Tea/coffee   Tea/coffee Tea/coffee
    18:30 for 19:00
  • Accommodation

    Accommodation prices have been negotiated for delegates at the Advances in Subatomic Physics Workshop to be held at the Pullman Cairns International Hotel, 17 Abbott Street, Cairns.

    The accommodation rate for 5 (or more) nights is:

    • Standard booking: City Mountain View Room at AUD$149.00 per night (full breakfast additional $22 per day).
    • An upgrade is possible to a Harbour View Room at AUD$169 per night (full breakfast additional $22 per day).

    The accommodation rates above are available also for two days either side of the workshop if delegates wish to arrive earlier or stay later in Cairns.

    Please note: If an accommodation booking is for fewer than 5 nights, the room rates will be an additional AUD$20 per night.

  • Information for presenters

    • There will be an 85" (216cm) LCD panel for display of presentations.
    • As it has a 16:9 aspect ratio of 1920x1080-pixel resolution. It is highly recommended that presentations be formatted in that aspect ratio whenever possible.
    • Connection to the LCD panel will be via a supplied HDMI cable. A variety of video adapters will be available - including mini-DisplayPort and USB-C - but it is suggested that presenters bring along an adapter of their own if they have one - as long as it has an HDMI port for output.
    • Laptops that have an inbuilt HDMI port should be able to take an HDMI cable directly- but please do check that this is the case beforehand.
    • Please be aware that a short amount of time may be required for switching between laptops in between talks, so pre-workshop practice of connecting an external display to your laptop is recommended! 
    • The organisers will have a Macbook Air available for showing presentations - preferred format is PDF to ensure maximum compatibility. 
    • Also, a combined laser pointer/clicker will be available, but please be aware that this requires a standard USB port for its receiver.
  • Participants

    The following people will be attending the event. * denotes attendance is to be confirmed.

    Chris Allton Gastao Krein* Stephen Sharpe*
    Sofija Antic Krishna Kumar* Cedric Simenel
    Steven Bass* Kurt Langfeld Jonivar Skullerud*
    Stan Brodsky* Frank Lee* Jirina Stone
    Matthias Burkardt Derek Leinweber Adam Szczepaniak
    Kadir Utku Can Zhan-Wei Liu Peter Tandy
    Tom Cohen Tim Londergan* Anthony Thomas
    Will Detmold* Kim Maltman Kazuo Tsushima
    Gerald Dunne* Bruce McKellar Fridolin Weber
    Bruno El-Bennich Wally Melnitchouk Wolfram Weise
    Kawtar Hafidi* Jerry Miller Martin White
    Tetsuo Hatsuda Colin Morningstar Tony Williams
    Roger Horsley Marina Nielsen Jiajun Wu
    Xiangdong Ji Koichi Saito* Ross Young
    Waseem Kamleh Gerrit Schierholz James Zanotti
    Cynthia Keppel Phiala Shanahan*  
    Ayse Kizilersu    


Organisers and key contacts