The Faculty of Sciences is a multidisciplinary hub of cutting-edge teaching and research.

  • We develop the future leaders of science and actively partner with innovative industries to solve scientific problems.
  • We're a synergy of four research intensive schools; thriving research centres and groups; and strong cross-institutional collaborations.
  • Study science with us and get more than just a degree. Start your career and help shape the future by choosing science at The University of Adelaide.

Study with us

Your future career starts here.

Study with us and learn from scientists working at the cutting-edge of their fields.

Discover our programs

Our research

World-class scientific expertise and facilities with high-quality training at honours, masters and doctorate levels.

Be inspired by our research

Engagement & industry

Industry, researchers, STEM teachers, alumni, students, and future scientists... work with us to shape the future of science.

Partner with us

Our faculty & schools

The Faculty of Sciences is spread across three vibrant campuses. Explore our four schools who each specialise in areas of teaching and research.

Our co-location with major national and global research organisations keeps our researchers and students at the forefront of developing technologies and the latest discoveries in science.

About us  Our people

School of Agriculture, Food & Wine

At the centre of the Southern Hemisphere’s largest hub of agricultural science, plant science and food and wine science.

School of Animal & Veterinary Sciences

World-class education and training to future animal and veterinary scientists in an intensive research environment.

School of Biological Sciences

Home to cutting edge research and teaching in ecology and environmental science, evolutionary biology and molecular and biomedical science.

School of Physical Sciences

A synergy of innovation and discovery in the fields of chemistry, earth sciences and physics.

Science news

Hip, hip… neigh! Birthday time for the University’s oldest horses

Roseworthy campus' oldest horses turned 28 and celebrated with carrot cake, party hats and lots of friends.

Read more about Hip, hip… neigh! Birthday time for the University’s oldest horses

Do fruit tree nets impact the ability of bees to carry pollen?

Researchers to collaborate with industry to explore the effect of netting on beehive health, set and quality of apples.

Read more about Do fruit tree nets impact the ability of bees to carry pollen?

Students claim high-steaks judging competition

Agriculture, animal science and vet students perform a cut above the rest at the Australian Intercollegiate Meat Judging conference.

Read more about Students claim high-steaks judging competition

Science events



Physics Seminar: Dr Helen Maynard-Casely

Our solar system contains a great array of small planetary bodies that show remarkable variability in the chemistry, and subsequent materials, that form on their surfaces.



Food & wine in a changing climate: Waite in the Spotlight

Hear from Waite scientists about the impacts of a changing climate on the food we eat and wine we drink, and how their research is helping to ensure these industries can adapt.



Three Minute Thesis Competition 2019: Faculty of Sciences Final

This fast-paced competition challenges research students to present a compelling and easily comprehensible oration on their research and its significance in just three minutes. All welcome!



Public Forum: Everything you need to know about the flu

SEPT 3: Join our panel of Adelaide experts to address frequently asked questions about the flu, including misconceptions surrounding vaccination and the disease that arises in the winter months.



Animal & Veterinary Science Information Session - Adelaide

Visit North Terrace campus to learn about our programs and the career opportunities in animal and veterinary science.